Vodacom Cup team announced to take on Boland on Saturday

Published April 23, 2013 14:47

The Vodacom Cup team that will take on Boland on Saturday has been announced, featuring a number of seasoned players from the Super Rugby squad. 

Vodacom Cup head coach, David Maidza said the team would be led by Siyabonga “Tiger” Mangweni, following his outstanding performance against the Sharks XV over the weekend.

Among the players returning to the squad, was Darron Nell, who sat out the game against the Sharks XV due to a back injury.

“It’s great to have Darron back, he is one of the players who brings a lot of experience and stability to the side,” said Maidza.

Maidza said another key addition to the front row was Hannes Franklin, who would start at hooker.

“Hannes definitely brings experience to our forwards, and will help stabilise us on set piece and is very good on line out and scrummage,” he said.

Maidza said he was also impressed with the quality of play from Kyle van Zyl and Eben Barnard during the Sharks XV game, and said he felt they both had a lot to offer.

Maidza said the team would be looking to build on their momentum following the win over the weekend.

He said the team were looking forward to the game against Boland.

“We’ve gone there a couple of times and we’ve played well, and we’ve come unstuck a few times as well. We know what we’re up against, they like to run the ball and we will have to be ready for that,” he said.

Maidza said the team was preparing well for the game, and would have to make sure that they do what they do best, concentrating on the game and building on the lessons learnt.

The team:

15. Kayle van Zyl
11. Eben Barnard
13. Scott van Breda
12. Siyabonga “Tiger” Mangweni (Captain)
14. Brian Skosana
10. Shane Gates
9. Scott Mathie
1. Lizo Gqoboka
2. Hannes Franklin
3. Charl du Plessis
6. Devin Oosthuizen
4. Darron Nell (V/C)
5. Daniel Adonga
7. Tomas Leonardi
8. Paul Schoeman
16. Boetie Britz
17. Jaco Engels
18. Stefan Willemse
19. Tim Agaba
20. Dwayne Kelly
21. Wesley Dunlop
22. Andile Jho

Back to all news

  • Tsogo
  • Cocacola
  • Nutritech Logo
  • Absa
  • Royalston