EPRU club players called up to pre-season training for Vodacom Cup

Published November 11, 2013 11:19

Eastern Province Rugby Union President, Cheeky Watson has announced that eighteen players from EPRU affiliated clubs as far afield as Alicedale, Hankey, Alexandria, Grahamstown and Humansdorp, have been selected to join the EP Kings wider training squad as part of preparations ahead of the 2014 Vodacom Cup .

“The eighteen players will be undergoing a clearance process from Thursday, [SUBS:14 November 2013], where they will undergo various fitness tests in preparation for the Vodacom Cup next year,” he said.

Watson said the players would then be assisted with various aspects from strength and conditioning and nutrition to various skills development sessions during the pre-season build up.

He said the decision to include club members had been made by the EPRU executive, and was well supported by the Union.

“The individual players were selected on their merits, through a thorough talent identification process involving selectors and coaches who work at club level,” he said.

Watson said the aim was to create a platform for club players to play at the highest level and give them the opportunity of entering into professional rugby where they could possibly springboard their professional careers.

The selected players are:

Positions    Names                       Clubs
15               Lance Louw              Rosebuds (Alicedale)
14               Tildon Goliath           Hankey Villagers
13               Curtis Sias                 Progress
12               Luvuyo Mhlobiso      Spring Rose
11               Raymond Darries       Progress
10               Vincent Mains           Ght Brumbies
9                 Kelvano King            Trying Stars (Alexandria)
8                 Athenhosi Manentsa  Afr Bombers
7                 Wade Stuurman         Kruisfontein (Humansdorp)
6                 Ben Jacobs                 Progress
5                 Ben Kleynhans           SAPS
4                 Monray Evans            Ght Brumbies
3                 Tashriq Hearn             SAPS
2                 Giovanni Fourie         Despatch
1                 Ronwich Lovemore   Gardens
9                Ignick Windvogel      Hankey Villagers
9                Kevin Plaatjies           SAPS
2                Lumko Mbane            Afr Bombers

Back to all news

  • Tsogo
  • Cocacola
  • Nutritech Logo
  • Absa
  • Royalston